The authors report an International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) Ophthalmology Surgical Competency Assessment Rubric (OSCAR) for anterior approach ptosis surgery. An international panel of content experts, representing Australia, India, Iran, Italy, Turkey, United Kingdom and the United States of America was established to develop the rubric. Learners are scored on a modified five-point Dreyfus scale of skill acquisition (novice = two points, beginner = three points, advanced beginner = four points, competent = five points). The OSCAR tool then breaks down anterior approach ptosis surgery into 17 agreed and weighted stems. Each of the 17 stems has defined criteria. General domains include draping, local anaesthetic infiltration, knowledge of instruments, flow of procedure, haemostasis and tissue handling. The specific domains include lid crease marking and incision, dissection into suborbicular plane, raising skin-orbicularis flap / clearing tarsus, opening of orbital septum, identification and separation of levator aponeurosis from underlying Muller’s muscle and conjunctiva, placement of sutures through tarsus and levator, lid height and contour adjustment, placement of eyelid crease reforming sutures, and skin closure. The rubric hence would allow objective assessment as well as identify specific areas that require improvement.

The Ophthalmology Surgical Competency Assessment Rubris (OSCAR) for anterior approach ptosis surgery.
Juniat V, Golnik KC, Bernardini FP, et al.
Share This
Rina Bhatt

Wolverhampton Eye Infirmary, UK.

View Full Profile