Share This



Dr Bhavna Sharma (left) and Dr Jennifer Hepschke (right)

Scope Eyecare are delighted to announce that the winners of the Scope Ophthalmology case awards UK and Ireland for 2023 are Dr Bhavna Sharma, University Hospital Wales, Cardiff, and Dr Jennifer Hepschke, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham.

Dr Sharma’s case presentation titled – “Orbito-Zygomatic Osteoblastoma: Unusual Lesion, Unusual location” hugely impressed the panel of judges as did Dr Hepschke’s case titled “Progressive Primary Open Angle Glaucoma – or is it?”.

Dr Sharma and Dr Hepschke were each awarded an educational bursary of £2,500.

The highly commended finalists were Dr Cara Campbell, University Hospitals Dorset, Dr Olivia Cundy, Sussex Eye Hospital, Dr Hetvi Bhatt, University Hospitals Coventry, Dr Mathew Hartley, Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle and Dr Li Yen Goh, St Thomas’ Hospital, London. The finalists will each receive a £350 educational bursary.

Scope received a record number of entries this year and selected case studies will be available later in the year on our Scope Education Hub.

Scope Eyecare’s Head of Medical, Edel Duffy Said: “We would like to sincerely congratulate the 2023 winners, finalists and all who entered the Scope Ophthalmology Case Awards. The awards are designed to reward excellence in Ophthalmology across the UK and Ireland, we understand the value of education and are delighted to support ophthalmologists in training with this initiative”.

Scope is a global Healthcare company with headquarters based in Dublin, London, and New York. Scope is dedicated to providing high quality, effective and innovative products in both the eyecare and healthcare industries to patients all around the world.



Scope Ophthalmology Case awards including submission details:

Share This