Share This

IoO Book Cover

Bausch + Lomb has announced the winners of the ‘Icons of Ophthalmology’ initiative with the launch of a keepsake compendium. Celebrating individuals who have made a difference to the world of ophthalmology. 

The expert panel (L-R Mr Colin Vize, Mr Zac Koshy, Ms Emma Hollick and Mr Richard Haynes)

The nominees were selected by a panel of expert ophthalmologists from across the UK. More than 1,000 votes were cast by eye care professionals to select the five winners, individuals who have made step changes to the world of ophthalmology, through technology, training or techniques. 

“We launched the ‘Icons of Ophthalmology’ campaign to celebrate eye care professionals who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of eye health through their work,” says Jenni White, Business Unit Director at Bausch + Lomb. 

All the nominees and winners are featured in a complementary keepsake book called ‘Icons of Ophthalmology, 1969 – 2020’, celebrating years of ophthalmic innovation. 
Icons of Ophthalmology: The Winners 

Sir Harold Ridley

  • 1970s winner: Sir Professor Harold Ridley, M.D., FRCS, FRS who developed the intraocular lens (IOL) after serving in World War II 
  • 1980s winner: Mr. Jack Kanski, FRCS, FRCOphthr whose seminal textbook Clinical Ophthalmology showcased clinical photographs of the interesting cases 
  • 1990s winner: Carol Shields, M.D. who treats around 50% of all retinoblastoma cases, and a third of ocular melanoma cases, in the United States. 
  • 2000s winner: Philip Rosenfeld, M.D., PhD who established the use of anti-VEGF treatments for wet age-related macular degeneration. 
  • 2010s winner: Mr Rob Johnston, FRCOphth, who invented and introduced of the Electronic Patient Record (EPR) which revolutionised surgical outcomes and auditing 



To request a copy of the book please visit

Share This