Dr Matias Iglicki, from the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina, has been selected as the second recipient of the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO)-Allergan Fellowship Award, by a panel of leading experts.

Dr Iglicki will receive a $50,000 grant to continue his research into diabetic retinopathy and telemedicine, which will involve refining his detection algorithm and further exploring the function of artificial intelligence for early detection and better treatment outcomes in refractive vitriol retinopathy.

“93 million people around the world are blinded as a result of diabetic retinopathy. Together, with Dinah Zur at Tel Aviv Medical Centre, we aim to improve our existing algorithm to identify diabetic retinopathy patients to support in reducing preventable blindness. We are confident that we can make this dream come true with this fellowship from the ICO,” said Iglicki.


Prof Peter Wiedemann (ICO President), Neeru Gupta (ICO Vice President), Matias Iglicki, Prof Berthold Seitz (ICO Director of Fellowships).

The Fellowship, now in its second year having launched in 2017, allows young ophthalmologists to continue their research at a university of their choice and is open to candidates from all countries, supporting innovative research that advances the scientific undersanding and clinical management of ophthalmic disease worldwide.

Last year’s inaugural winner Dr Emilio Torres-Netto, Brazil, received the award for his research in keratococonus at the University of Zurich.

Professor Berthold Seitz, Director of ICO Fellowships, said “We, at the ICO, are proud to support the latest talent and research in the ophthalmic field, and are pleased that recipients of this award are able to acquire knowledge and skills over the 12-months as well as broaden their perspectives of ophthalmology, to take back with them to their home countries.”

Following on from this success, ICO and Allergan are pleased to announce another one-year fellowship for 2020 for research work in the following subspecialties: Glaucoma, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Paediatric Ophthalmology, Retina, Tumours, Uveitis, Dry Eye, and Cornea. Applications for the 2019/2020 Fellowship will close on the 15 January 2020.

Applicants will need to provide the following items with their applications: copy of specialist exam; detailed CV; description of previous work in the field of the application; endorsement of the current Program Director; detailed description of how research work should be continued; feasibility confirmation of chosen host university and a sustainability statement. More information about the initiative and how to apply can be found at http://www.icoph.org/refocusing_education/fellowships.html