Recipients of the 2018/19 Ophthalmology Honours were recognised during a presentation held at BMA House, London.

The Ophthalmology Honours programme, now in its fourth year, is facilitated by Bayer and supported by the Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB) and Visionary. It recognises the outstanding work being carried out by multi-disciplinary teams in ophthalmology throughout the UK and identifies exceptional initiatives that demonstrate clinical excellence and innovation in the area. The programme allows the ophthalmology community to share their best practices, so that creative ideas and practical solutions can be discussed and implemented more widely, with the ultimate aim of improving the care and experience of patients.

Commenting on this year’s entries, Helen Devonport, Consultant in Ophthalmology at Bradford Royal Infirmary and Steering Committee member, said: “There is always a high standard of entries to the Ophthalmology Honours, and this year is no exception. It is inspiring to see the excellent work that is undertaken across the country in ophthalmology and have the opportunity to acknowledge what the finalists have achieved, with the ultimate aim of sharing key learnings so their outstanding work might be replicated in other hospitals.”

The 2018/19 Honourees:

  • Best Ophthalmology Team:

The Uveitis Service – Building a holistic personalised service for patients with sight threatening inflammation, by University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust (pictured below)

 The Uveitis Service from University Hospitals Birmingham

  • Best Patient Support or Education Initiative:

Vulnerable Adult Ophthalmology Service, by South Warwickshire NHS Foundation Trust

  • Best Ophthalmology Service Improvement:

MOVES – Multi-disciplinary pathway for Oculomotor and Visual Evaluation in Stroke patients, by King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

  • Outstanding Ophthalmology Nurse or Allied Health Professional:

Claire Saha, Deputy Head of Optical Services, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation


  • Ophthalmology Unsung Hero:

Sabeena Kaushali Weyhenage, Ophthalmic Eye Clinic Liaison Officer (ECLO), and Neima the guide dog, Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

  • Judges’ Special Honours:

Roxanne Crosby-Nwaobi, Head of Research Nursing, Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, and Daniel Smith, Ophthalmic Technician, Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

The Ophthalmology Honours programme is guided by a Steering Committee of independent experts, including consultant ophthalmologists and representatives from the RNIB and Visionary. The decision-making process is wholly independent of Bayer and entries are judged by a panel of eight experts in ophthalmology care.

Dr Jackie Napier, Medical Director, Ophthalmology & Neurology, Bayer said: “We are very proud of the Ophthalmology Honours programme, and in particular of all the entrants who have demonstrated outstanding work, resulting in advancements in ophthalmology and ultimately improved patient care. The programme supports and acknowledges the importance of multidisciplinary and innovative working in the NHS, both of which Bayer wholeheartedly support as part of our commitment to transforming lives.”

Further information on the results, categories and entry process for the Ophthalmology Honours can be found at: