Share This


The final of the 2023 SCOPE IP Bursary Awards took place on Thursday 29 June 2023. The award, now in its second year, attracted many entries the quality of which were extremely high. Six finalists were chosen to present their case studies and answered questions from the panel of judges which was led by Professor Nick Rumney and that included Sarah Farrant, Louise Madden and Ailbhe Ni Raighne. The judges remarked on the high-quality professionalism of the presentations and commended all the finalists on their dedication to patient care.

We are delighted to announce the three winners each of whom will receive a £1500 bursary to put towards their Independent Prescriber course fees.


“Since I started my Optometry degree, I have felt that I wanted to dedicate my professional career to helping people. I'm very lucky in both Optics and Wales, that there is such potential for clinically minded people to thrive and make a real difference to the individuals in their community. Independent Prescribing is the game-changer; a patient truly appreciates the role you can take in their care. With thanks to Scope, my journey towards this dream has become far more real! I'm both nervous and excited, but above all thrilled to be given such an opportunity. I hope I make the most of this opportunity, with all thanks to Scope for facilitating it. I can't wait to see what the future brings!”

Nkosi Yearwood, A&A Stevens Opticians, Caerphilly


"Thank you SCOPE for this amazing opportunity to start an IP qualification. This is a dream come through for me and I am super grateful. Winning the SCOPE IP Bursary reaffirms that as Optometrists we play a critical role in saving the sight of people in the community. My case presentation for the competition exemplified commitment, compassion and courage. I am especially grateful to the Wales Eye Care Service which is redefining primary eye care in the region. I am dedicating this award to all Optometrists in the frontline saving the eyes of people and to my amazing team at Specsavers Blackwood, ably led by Mr Jonathan Evans."

Lucky Aziken, Specsavers Blackwood, Cardiff


“I am honoured to win an independent prescriber bursary from Scope. The future of clinical excellence is in integrated care; this award will allow me to deliver for patients in both of my work settings within the hospital clinics and the community. I am excited for the journey that lies ahead!”

Umar Vania, East Kent Hospitals University Foundation Trust, Canterbury


There were three runners up on the night who also each received a £100 educational voucher in recognition for reaching the final. These were Sabrina Begum, Boots, Yardley, Rebecca Lewis, Bayfields Maidstone/Estuary View Medical Practice Whitstable and Jasmeen Khera, Specsavers, Staines

Edel Duffy, Head of Medical at Scope, and the medical team are proud of the success of this initiative and are delighted that the award has created so much continued interest with Optometrists wanting to upskill which can only benefit patients. Scope looks forward to the continued success of this award and is committed to supporting Optometrists on their optometry journey.



Share This